PAN1760A firmware stack, BT driver, and RTOS / not options

I'm studying this module for Stand-alone use, and reading trough Toshiba and Panasonic docs, I'm not clear on the following.

The Bluetooth SDK developers Guide (v3.4.1) says the BT stack or driver is RTOS-agnostic, but also stays all Standalone demos use RTOS embedded in the firmware of the ICs.

So my first question is, I'm assuming the embedded firmware image in ROM is fixed, then this means the system always has to use BT stack and user app running on that Proprietary RTOS  - so the bare-metal or OS Less as manual says, that applies to the hosted (external MCU) case only ..?

For the proprietary embedded RTOS, why is the API exposed (as far as I see) seems so limited - the "app" entry point , the c2_task, is this the only app "task" which is allowed on the system?  One cannot add another task through that RTOS API ?

5replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • Also, under 3.1.1 Using Bluetooth Driver, there are two stacks pictures - Host and Standalone based.

What is the gray "Bluetooth Stack"  below the "TOSHIBA Bluetooth Driver"  in the Standalone case ..?

Is the BT Driver part of the firmware embedded in the chip?

• The Bluetooth SDK developers Guide (v3.4.1) says the BT stack or driver is RTOS-agnostic, but also stays all Standalone demos use RTOS embedded in the firmware of the ICs.

Please use the latest Toshiba Bluetooth SDK for your reference, which as of today is v4.2.2.

The Toshiba Bluetooth SDK is RTOS-agnostic. This is most visible when used for host-mode configurations. On the host, any RTOS can be used.

When run in standalone mode, the Toshiba Bluetooth SDK is still RTOS-agnostic, but since Toshiba enforces the use of their own embedded RTOS, this is of little use.